Winning Work

Congratulations to all of the 2017 winners and finalists, and thank you to all of the writers from BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan and the Yukon for participating in this year's writing competition.  This year's winners are indicated below, along with excerpts of their winning entries.  

Fiction category -

  • Anneliese Schultz of Richmond, BC for "Bread"
  • Paula Lemke of Langley, BC for "Pilgrimage"
  • Louise Sidley of Rossland, BC for "Nemo Creek"
  • Lynn Salmon of Courtenay, BC for "Sakura" (Honourable Mention)

First Nations category - 

  • Guuduniia La Boucan of Victoria, BC for "Del's Truck"

Creative Non-fiction category - 

  • Tom Gee of Osoyoos, BC for "Oh, My Poppa" (Honourable Mention)
  • Bobbie Ogletree  of Nelson, BC for " Queen For A Day"
  • Susan Pieters of Burnaby, BC for "Singing Solo"
  • Gloria Lorenzen of Duncan, BC for "The Descent El Descenso"

Poetry category -  

  • KB Nelson (Karen Black)  of Langley, BC for "Celebrating the Natural World and the Humans In It"
  • Gladys McDonald of Moose Jaw, SK for " The Saturday Night Routine" (Honourable Mention)
  • Elizabeth Cunningham of Nelson, BC for " Words to Make a Day for You"

Here are excerpts from the work of our current winners and 2016 and 2015 winners and some finalists.